In Loving Response-Ability

I was stunned a few months ago.  In reading Jessica Shepherd’s book A Love Alchemist’s Notebook (a book I highly recommend and pick up almost every night for a refresher on love), she spelled (pardon the pun)  it out for me.

Responsibility = the ability to respond.  Duh. No kidding, why hadn’t I noticed it before?

We wander around dreading, embracing, and sometimes shirking our responsibilities when it’s not really a thing but a mindset.  Some people want more, expecting greater results, more money and more attention. But that’s only part of the equation right?  In order to have more, do more, be more…we’ve got to be ready to give more or in this case, respond more.

So here’s where the rubber hit the road for me.  I’m reading this love-ly book and I’m trying to figure out where I’m at with romantic relationships…where I’ve been and where I want to go.  My eureka moment knocked the book right off my lap.  I have attracted men who are unable to respond the way I need them to for one reason or the other.  They apparently have issues too (which just means they’re human, no I’m not dating robots). For a few, it’s in expressing love, others it’s in showing love, some it’s just because they choose to other things. Ah-ha!

Now I can do things differently. I’m going to attract those who can stand strong in loving response-ability.  At the very least recognize my need for it and be able to change things if they want.  Recognizing of course that this isn’t a 100% thing, but a current flowing between the two of us. This also includes being more response-able myself (which translates into saying “no” more in situations I know I’m unable to respond wholeheartedly; romantic or not).

…and the list grows.  Believing in ME.

Yours in nimble spirit,

JCM


Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention In Loving Response-Ability « -- Topsy.com pingbacked on 13 years, 3 months ago

Comments

  1. * Forrest says:

    THANK YOU my friend for this post!

    Response-ability…it landed squarely between the eyes.

    WOW…

    | Reply Posted 13 years, 3 months ago
    • * nimble1 says:

      Yeah! I know. Crazy.

      | Reply Posted 13 years, 3 months ago
  2. Hi Jennifer! Thanks for picking up my book, having a pretty damn good epiphany ;), and taking the time to write about it, share your experience with your readers.
    Now I will share your very timely blog (January is a month when these cold, hard facts hit us like a 2×4 right in the third chakra!), with my own readers. In love, Jessica

    | Reply Posted 13 years, 3 months ago
    • * nimble1 says:

      Thanks for the sharing luv Jessica. Always looking forward to your material: straight up and bang on. Keep it coming!

      In nimble spirit,
      JCM

      | Reply Posted 13 years, 3 months ago
  3. * Shawn Draisey says:

    Keep going Loving one!

    SD

    | Reply Posted 13 years, 3 months ago


Leave a comment